Lerner & Rowe Music News

Against Me!'s Laura Jane Grace drops surprise solo album, 'Stay Alive'

M Laurajanegracealbum 10120

Against Me! frontwoman Laura Jane Grace has surprise-released a new solo album, Stay Alive.

The 14-track effort is available now on digital platforms, and will be released on physical formats on December 11.

As she explains in a statement, Grace had originally written much of the songs included on Stay Alive for a new Against Me! record, but due to the COVID-19 pandemic, she was unable to get together with her band mates to record them.

“I sat around for a month-and-a-half at a home just being shell-shocked being like, ‘What the f*** happened and what the f*** is happening with the world?'” Grace explains. “As I started to get my bearings, I just came to the realization that waiting was going to kill the record and kill the songs.”

“I spent two years working on all these songs, and the idea of throwing them away didn’t sit well with me,” she adds. “But then I was like, ‘What am I waiting for?’ All I have to do is adjust my scope. I can sit here on my f***ing a** and do nothing, or I can work.”

Stay Alive follows Grace’s 2018 album, Bought to Rot, recorded with her side project, The Devouring Mothers. Against Me!’s most recent album is 2016’s Shape Shift with Me.

Here’s the Stay Alive track list:

“The Swimming Pool Song”
“The Calendar Song”
“Shelter in Place”
“Return to Oz”
“The Mountain Song”
“SuperNatural Possession”
“Hanging Tree”
“Please Leave”
“Why Kant I Be You?”
“Ice Cream Song”
“The Magic Point”
“Blood & Thunder”
“So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, F*** Off”
“Old Friend (Stay Alive)”

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

(Video contains uncensored profanity.)