Lerner & Rowe Music News

Billie Eilish, HAIM included on Barack Obama's summer playlist

M Billieeilish 72420
ABC/Craig Sjodin

Former President Barack Obama has unveiled a new playlist in commemoration of the 2020 Democratic National Convention, which kicked off this week.

The list features selections from modern alternative favorites, such as Billie Eilish‘s brand new single “my future” and HAIM‘s “The Steps.”

Eilish’s inclusion is no surprise, given that she’s performing during the DNC this Wednesday.

“Over the past few months, I’ve spent a lot of time listening to music with my family,” Obama writes in an Instagram post. “I wanted to share some of my favorites from the summer — including songs from some of the artists performing at this week’s @DemConvention.”

“As always, it’s a mix of genres that travels through various eras,” he adds. “I think there’s something in here for everybody — hope you enjoy it.”

The playlist also includes Bob Dylan, Beyoncé, Common, Rihanna, John Legend, War, Otis Redding, Nina Simone, Childish Gambino, Mac Miller, Maggie Rogers, Leon Bridges, Frank Ocean, Billie Holiday, D’Angelo and John Coltrane, among many others.

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.