Lerner & Rowe Music News

Chester Bennington’s pre-Linkin Park band Grey Daze announces new album, ‘The Phoenix’

Mauricio Santana/Getty Images

Chester Bennington‘s pre-Linkin Park band Grey Daze has announced a new album called The Phoenix, due out June 17.

Like Grey Daze’s previous album, 2020’s Amends, The Phoenix features newly recorded instrumentals accompanying Bennington’s original vocal takes from when he fronted the band in the ’90s.

Amends was more emotional and reflective,” says Grey Daze drummer Sean Dowdell. “We felt sad when we were writing it. Now that we’re a couple of years removed, it’s very clear what we were going through. We were at a different stage of grief. We went through the shock and the sadness. Now, we’re back to gratitude.”

“The Phoenix is more of a celebration of our friend, his talent, and the music,” Dowdell continues. “It captures Chester’s angst and energy that people fell in love with. It’s much more aggressive. If you love Chester’s scream, you’ll love this record.”

The first single to be released from The Phoenix is called “Saturation (Strange Love),” and is available now via digital outlets. An accompanying video, featuring archival video of Bennington, is streaming now on YouTube.

The Phoenix also includes guest spots from Jane’s Addiction‘s Dave Navarro, Filter‘s Richard Patrick, and Bennington’s daughters Lily and Lila.

Bennington had announced a reunion with Grey Daze prior to his untimely death in July 2017. The remaining band members decided to continue on with the project with the blessing of Chester’s widow, Talinda Bennington.

Here’s the track list for The Phoenix:

“Saturation (Strange Love)”
“Starting to Fly”
“Be Your Man”
“Holding You” feat. Dave Navarro
“Hole” feat. Lily & Lila Bennington
“Believe Me” feat. Richard Patrick
“Anything, Anything”
“Wake Me”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.