Lerner & Rowe Music News

Death Cab for Cutie officially releases 'The Georgia EP' covers collection following exclusive Bandcamp premiere

Credit: Eliot Lee Hazel

Death Cab for Cutie‘s The Georgia EP covers collection is now out on all digital outlets.

The five-track effort was initially solely available for 24 hours in December on Bandcamp in an effort to raise money for Stacey Abrams‘ Fair Fight Action voter rights organization ahead of January’s Georgia Senate runoff elections. After raising $100,000 from that exclusive premiere, Death Cab is giving the EP an official wide digital release.

The Georgia EP includes covers of five artists from the Peach State: R.E.M., TLC, Neutral Milk Hotel, Vic Chesnutt and Cat Power. In addition to the digital release, the EP will also be available on fittingly peach-colored vinyl.

“Fair Fight is grateful for the support of Death Cab for Cutie in our fight for free and fair elections in Georgia and nationwide,” says Abrams in a statement. “The Georgia EP helps tell the story of Georgia just as their contributions have helped us write the next chapter.”

Here’s the track list for The Georgia EP:

“Waterfalls” (TLC)
“The King of Carrot Flowers, Pt. 1” (Neutral Milk Hotel)
“Fall on Me” (R.E.M.)
“Flirted with You All My Life” (Vic Chesnutt)
“Metal Heart” (Cat Power)

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.