Lerner & Rowe Music News

Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan takes on Neil Young, Bob Dylan & others on new Imposter album

Stefan Hoederath/Redferns

Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan has announced a new album called Imposter, due out November 12.

Recorded in collaboration with the production duo Soulsavers, Imposter includes covers of songs originally recorded by artists including Neil Young, Bob Dylan, Cat Power and Mark Lanegan, among others.

“[Gahan and Soulsavers] didn’t write these songs, but listened to them, studied them, and gave them new life,” reads a description of the album. “It is a reflection of Dave’s life, a story told by others, but in his own distinct voice.”

Imposter is the third collaboration between Gahan and Soulsavers, following 2012’s The Light the Dead See and 2015’s Angels & Ghosts. Depeche Mode’s most recent album is 2017’s Spirit.

Meanwhile, Gahan just released a cover of Metallica‘s “Nothing Else Matters” for the metal legends’ Blacklist tribute album, which dropped last month.

Here’s the Imposter track list:

“The Dark End of the Street”
“Strange Religion”
“Lilac Wine”
“I Held My Baby Last Night”
“A Man Needs a Maid”
“Metal Heart”
“Shut Me Down”
“Where My Love Lies Asleep”
“The Desperate Kingdom of Love”
“Not Dark Yet”
“Always on My Mind”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.