Lerner & Rowe Music News

Empire of the Sun’s Luke Steele details debut solo album; listen to new single “Common Man” now

EMI Music Australia

After a teaser last week, Empire of the Sun frontman Luke Steele has officially announced his debut solo album.

The record is titled Listen to the Water, and will arrive May 13. Lead single “Common Man” is available now via digital outlets.

In a statement, Steele shares that Listen to the Water finds him taking a more stripped-down approach compared to his elaborate Empire of the Sun getup.

“The crown is off, the makeup is off and this is where we find out what is left,” Steele says.

“Sometimes the only way to let something go is through a song,” he adds. “In a way this record has been a bit of a ‘Luke Steele unboxing,’ so to speak.”

Empire of the Sun’s most recent album is 2016’s Two Vines, featuring the single “High and Low.”

Here’s the Listen to the Water track list:

“Listen to the Water”
“Armageddon Slice”
“Common Man”
“Pool of Love”
“Dark World”
“Two of Us”
“Get Out Now”
“Here Is Help”
“Keep on Trying”
“Desert Island”
“My Boy”
“Running, Running”
“Bullet Train”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.