Lerner & Rowe Music News

Franz Ferdinand releases new song, “Billy Goodbye”; ‘Hits to the Head’ best-of compilation arriving in March

Courtesy of Domino Records

As promised, Franz Ferdinand has debuted a new song.

The track is titled “Billy Goodbye,” and it’s available now for digital download. Its accompanying video, which showcases new drummer Audrey Tait, is streaming now on YouTube.

“Billy Goodbye” will be included on the just-announced Hits to the Head, a Franz Ferdinand best-of collection that’s due out March 11. The compilation, which you can pre-order now, includes 18 previously released tracks — spanning from Franz’s breakout single “Take Me Out” to the title track off their most recent album, 2018’s Always Ascending — plus two new tunes: “Billy Goodbye” and the forthcoming “Curious.”

“I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a ‘real’ fan if you own a best of rather than a discography,” says frontman Alex Kapranos. “I disagree.”

He adds, “I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had [David Bowie‘s] Changes[bowie] or [The Rolling Stones‘] Rolled Gold. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.”

Here’s the Hits to the Head track list:

“Darts of Pleasure”
“Take Me Out”
“The Dark of the Matinée”
“This Fire”
“Do You Want To”
“Walk Away”
“The Fallen”
“Lucid Dreams”
“No You Girls”
“Right Action”
“Evil Eye”
“Love Illumination”
“Stand on the Horizon”
“Always Ascending”
“Glimpse of Love”
“Billy Goodbye”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.