Lerner & Rowe Music News

Muse drops new single “Compliance” alongside ’Will of the People’ album announcement

Warner Records

After a week of teasing, Muse has premiered the new single “Compliance.” Not only that, but the U.K rockers have also announced their new album, Will of the People.

The ninth studio effort from the “Uprising” trio — and their first since 2018’s Simulation Theory — will arrive August 26. Along with “Compliance,” which is streaming now alongside a video on YouTube, Will of the People also includes the previously released single “Won’t Stand Down.”

According to a press release, there is “no bowing to any singular genre” on Will of the People. Indeed, the synth-y “Compliance” certainly stands in contrast with the heavy riffs of “Won’t Stand Down.”

Will of the People was created in Los Angeles  and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” says Bellamy. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will of the People.” 

“It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened,” he continues. “This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

Here’s the Will of the People track list:

“Will of the People”
“Won’t Stand Down”
“Ghosts (How Can I Move On)”
“You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween”
“Kill or Be Killed”
“We Are F***ing F***ed”

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.