Lerner & Rowe Music News

Of Monsters and Men announces 10th anniversary ‘My Head Is an Animal’ reissue

Credit: Cameron Stewart

Of Monsters and Men has announced a 10th anniversary reissue of the band’s debut album, My Head Is an Animal.

The expanded collection will be released via digital platforms on October 29. It features the track list from the original Iceland release of the record, as well as two previously unreleased bonus tracks: “Phantom” and “Sugar in a Bowl.”

A vinyl version of the reissue is available for pre-order now via OMaM’s web store.

My Head Is an Animal was first released in 2011 in Of Monsters and Men’s native Iceland before dropping in the U.S. a year later. The album, and specifically its lead single “Little Talks,” put OMaM at the forefront of the early 2010s alternative folk scene alongside bands including The Lumineers, Mumford & Sons and The Head and the Heart.

Along with the reissue, Of Monsters and Men has announced a pair of anniversary shows taking place November 9 and 10 in Reykjavik, Iceland.

“This album is how most of you got to know us and how we got to know you and for that we are forever grateful,” the band says. “Thank you to everyone that listened to and supported us this past decade. Here is to another 10 years!”

Of Monsters and Men followed My Head Is an Animal with 2015’s Beneath the Skin and 2019’s Fever Dream. Since then, they’ve released a pair of one-off singles: 2020’s “Visitor” and this year’s “Destroyer.”

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.