Lerner & Rowe Music News

The Lumineers' Wesley Schultz announces solo covers album, 'Vignettes'


The Lumineers frontman Wesley Schultz is releasing a solo covers album called Vignettes this Friday, October 30.

The 10-track collection, which marks Schultz’s full-length solo debut, includes renditions of songs originally by Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Coldplay and Sheryl Crow, among others.

“I was introduced to a lot of music through other artists, listening to their covers and then going backward,: Schultz says. “So part of this record is the joy of exposing something that you know is beautiful, while trying to make it your own so that they both can stand on their own two feet.”

“It’s almost like you’re showing people your personal playlist, your inspiration,” he adds.

While you wait for Vignettes to arrive, you can watch a behind-the-scenes web series about the record, titled Introducing Vignettes, streaming now on YouTube.

Meanwhile, Schultz’s Lumineers band mate Jeremiah Fraites recently announced the details of his first solo album, Piano Piano. The piano-driven instrumental collection arrives January 22, 2021.

The Lumineers’ most recent album is 2019’s III.

Here’s the Vignettes track list:

“My City of Ruins” (Bruce Springsteen)
“Downtown Train” (Tom Waits)
“Green Eyes” (Coldplay)
“If It Makes You Happy” (Sheryl Crow)
“Mrs. Potter’s Lullaby” (Counting Crows)
“Bell Bottom Blues” (Eric Clapton/Bobby Whitlock)
“Operator” (Jim Croce)
“Boots of Spanish Leather” (Bob Dylan)
“The Ballad of Lou the Welterweight” (The Felice Brothers)
“Keep Me in Your Heart” (Warren Zevon)

By Josh Johnson
Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.