Lerner & Rowe Music News

Tom Morello announces collaborative EP with The Bloody Beetroots; listen to new song “Radium Girls” now

Comandante LLC

Rage Against the Machine‘s Tom Morello has announced a new EP in collaboration with electronic artist The Bloody Beetroots.

The collection is titled The Catastrophists, and is due out June 18. You can listen to the first single, “Radium Girls,” now via digital outlets.

“Radium Girls” is accompanied by a video directed by Morello, and features the singers of Pussy Riot, The Interrupters, White Lung and The Last Internationale. Its title refers to the young women who died of radiation poisoning while working in an Illinois watch factory, where they were forced to use radium-laced paint.

“They were encouraged to lick the paintbrushes to a point to increase productivity and profit and in the end their bones literally fell apart from cancer and they were so toxic they had to be buried in lead-lined coffins,” Morello says. “The resulting court cases and publicity led to historic nationwide labor protection legislation. Every year I place flowers at the small monument to these quiet heroes and this song is dedicated to their memory.”

Morello previously collaborated with The Bloody Beetroots on the 2020 song “Stand Up,” which also features Imagine DragonsDan Reynolds and musician and activist Shea Diamond. Earlier this year, the Rage shredder released a new track called “Weather Strike” alongside Pussy Riot.

Copyright © 2021, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.